Oracle:

Oracle is so very confident in the performance of their Exadata solution — but then why do they shy away from a good ole fashion on-site proof of concept (POC) ?

IBM:

We know choosing a data warehouse system is a big decision and we understand the challenges of running a proof of concept.  We know you are betting your job on the decision and we know you want to see performance in the walls of your organization.

Smarter Question:

If Oracle is so confident why do they make it so hard for customers to evaluate their solution on site? Hmmmmmmm

Last I heard the customers is always right

Ok so not so long ago in a not so far away place, the POC/benchmark team reported to me for data warehousing.  As a part of my initiation, I learned of the joys and pains of running a customer POC, as a vendor.  I mean let’s face it, it was a character building experience for me.  I would have LOVED to put my hands on my hips and tell customers that “if you want to try my solution YOU have to come to me in my nice comfy and completely controlled environment”!

But then cold hard reality set in and I remembered, the customer is always right and 9 out of 10 times, the customers wanted their proof of concept on-site.    You see, I realized that it was just as much of a pain for them as it was for us, they had to get the people, the power and floor space and in some cases, they pulled all nighters too.  Why did they do all this?  Because the decision to buy a data warehouse solution is just that important.

Why would you accept no?

It’s just simply baffling. I mean in my “sales dreams” I ask a customer to make an IBM decision and they just smile and say “absolutely”.   But I know we have to earn that decision.  I know we have to earn that trust and above all I know all too well, we have to prove ourselves in a proof of concept.   So why would anyone invest millions of dollars in a system that they can’t test drive in their own facility?

Oh wait, there IS a 3D demo on Exadata @ Oracle.com, yah I would totally bet my career on a 3D demo (NOT).  Is it they don’t have enough machines? Are they worried it will fall off the back of a truck (ok I have a story on that for another time), do they have less confidence when the machines is out of their control?   Is Exadata secretly a huge pain to get up and running? Does it require an army of Oracle-ites? (link to Netezza movie #3)  Why do they get to be different?  Why does Oracle get to say no?

The Analysts tell customers to run a proof of concept

If you ask an analyst or any major industry consultant about making a data warehouse decision, they will tell you to run a proof of concept.  Curt Monash too.  In fact there is no shortage of advice, help and even methodologies.  It’s just how these decisions get done.  IBM gets it, Netezza gets it too. In fact they have made taking the TwinFin out for a test drive as easy as filling out a short form online.  No kidding, it’s that easy.  (Take the “Netezza Testdrive“).

So Why Does this make Oracle so cranky?

That’s the question of the day isn’t it? If IBM & Netezza can mobilize for a customer POC then why can’t Oracle?  This got me thinking.  Yup it’s true we have a lot less control over the test when its not in the walls of our lab-  but isn’t that exactly what the customer wants to see?  They want to know just how hard this is going to be.  They want to truly understan from hitting the dock to query performance how much work this is going to be. They want to know if they will have weekends and holidays off for the next 2 years.

If you were betting your job on it- wouldn’t you want know that?

Let’s Start a Revolution

I say we start a revolution and demand systems to be up in running in 24 hours, NOT 24 days. Let’s raise the bar, give customers what they need and want to make this important decision.  I say if we offer on-site customer proof of concepts, well so should everyone else who is serious about this business.

So if you can’t take the heat Oracle, well then you stay in your comfy air conditioned labs and we will be happy to show your customers our solutions on site.